Acziun Susch › Co-productions & Residencies › Guy Cools/ AT: Lamenting Residency

Acziun Susch /

Guy Cools/ AT : Lamenting Residency

17-28.10.2021 research residency

Wed, 27.10.2021/ 16.00 /

Post-residency work-in-progress presentation / entrance free

Muzeum Susch proudly welcomes for residency based in Vienna dramaturge and performance artist Guy Cools.

Last year we were honored to support the publication of Guy's new book: "Performing Mourning, Laments in Contemporary Art" (Valiz, 2021). Using the Greek tradition of the 'moiroloi' (laments) - 'which are dramatic expressions of an ethic of care and of tending the dead' - as a template, Guy discusses how a lot of contemporary art in different disciplines (literature, visual art, performing arts, music) develop forms of contemporary laments to dialogue with those who are absent. By performing and giving a voice to the emotions of grief, these contemporary artistic expressions transform the seeming fatality of the experience of loss.

During his residency in Susch, he will continue to develop a series of lecture-performances and workshops that will accompany the book and apply the dramaturgy of traditional laments in contemporary art practices.

Guy Cools. Courtesy the artist.
Guy Cools. Courtesy the artist.

We kindly invite you to a post-residency open showing – meeting with Guy Cools on Wednesday, 27.10. at 4 PM. 

Please also listen to the podcast on the topic Guy Cools prepared in 2019 for our ECHOLOT series: Episode 3 

Dr Guy Cools is a dance dramaturge. His recent positions include Associate Research Professor at the institute Arts in Society of the Fontys School of Fine and Performing Arts in Tilburg, and Postdoctoral Researcher at Ghent University, where he finished a practice-based PhD on the relationship between dance and writing. He has worked as a dance critic and dance curator. He now dedicates himself to production dramaturgy, contributing to work by choreographers all over Europe and Canada such as Jean Abreu (UK), Koen Augustijnen (BE), Sidi Larbi Cherkaoui (BE), Danièle Desnoyers (CA), Lia Haraki (CY), Christopher House (CA), Akram Khan (UK), Arno Schuitemaker (NL), and Stephanie Thiersch (DE). He regularly lectures and publishes and has developed a series of workshops that aim to support artists and choreographers in their creative process. His most recent publications include The Ethics of Art: ecological turns in the performing arts, co-edited with Pascal Gielen (Valiz, 2014); In-between Dance Cultures: on the migratory artistic identity of Sidi Larbi Cherkaoui and Akram Khan (Valiz, 2015) and Imaginative Bodies, dialogues in performance practices (Valiz, 2016), a series of published, live interviews with prominent contemporary artists which Cools curated from 2008 till 2013 for Sadler's Wells, London. With the Canadian choreographer Lin Snelling, he developed an improvised performance practise 'Rewriting Distance' (see also: www.rewritingdistance.com) that focuses on integrating movement, voice, and writing. Cools lives in Vienna.

Acziun Susch › Co-productions & Residencies › Guy Cools/ AT: Lamenting Residency

Acziun Susch /

Guy Cools/ AT: Lamenting Residency

Research Rezidenz 17-28.10.2021 


Mi, 27.10.2021/ 16.00 /

Post-Residency Präsentation der Arbeitsprozesse / Eintritt frei


Das Muzeum Susch freut sich, den in Wien lebenden Dramaturgen und Performancekünstler Guy Cools für eine Residency begrüßen zu dürfen.

Letztes Jahr wurde uns die Ehre zuteil, die Veröffentlichung von Guys neuem Buch zu unterstützen: "Performing Mourning, Laments in Contemporary Art" (Valiz, 2021). Ausgehend von der griechischen Tradition der "moiroloi" (Klagen) - "die dramatische Ausdrucksformen einer Ethik der Fürsorge und der Pflege der Toten sind" - erörtert Guy, wie viele zeitgenössische Kunstwerke in verschiedenen Disziplinen (Literatur, bildende Kunst, darstellende Kunst, Musik) Formen zeitgenössischer Klagen entwickeln, um mit den Abwesenden in Dialog zu treten. Indem diese zeitgenössischen künstlerischen Ausdrucksformen die Emotionen der Trauer aufführen und ihnen eine Stimme geben, verwandeln sie die scheinbare Fatalität der Erfahrung des Verlusts.

Während seines Residency in Susch wird er eine Reihe von Lecture-Performances und Workshops entwickeln, die das Buch begleiten und die Dramaturgie traditioneller Klagelieder in der zeitgenössischen Kunstpraxis anwenden.

Guy Cools. Mit freundlicher Genehmigung des Künstlers.
Guy Cools. Mit freundlicher Genehmigung des Künstlers.

Wir laden Sie herzlich zu einer offenen Post-Residency Vorführung - Treffen mit Guy Cools ein.

Hören Sie sich auch den Podcast zum Thema an, den Guy Cools 2019 für unsere ECHOLOT-Serie vorbereitet hat: Episode 3.

Dr. Guy Cools ist ein Tanzdramaturg. Zuletzt war er Associate Research Professor am Institut Arts in Society der Fontys School of Fine and Performing Arts in Tilburg und Postdoctoral Researcher an der Universität Gent, wo er eine praxisorientierte Doktorarbeit über die Beziehung zwischen Tanz und Schrift abschloss. Er hat als Tanzkritiker und Tanzkurator gearbeitet. Heute widmet er sich der Produktionsdramaturgie und trägt zu den Arbeiten von Choreographen aus ganz Europa und Kanada bei, darunter Jean Abreu (UK), Koen Augustijnen (BE), Sidi Larbi Cherkaoui (BE), Danièle Desnoyers (CA), Lia Haraki (CY), Christopher House (CA), Akram Khan (UK), Arno Schuitemaker (NL) und Stephanie Thiersch (DE). Er hält regelmäßig Vorträge und veröffentlicht und hat eine Reihe von Workshops entwickelt, die Künstler und Choreographen in ihrem kreativen Prozess unterstützen sollen. Zu seinen jüngsten Veröffentlichungen gehören The Ethics of Art: Ecological Turns in the Performing Arts, gemeinsam herausgegeben mit Pascal Gielen (Valiz, 2014); In-between Dance Cultures: On the Migratory Artistic Identity of Sidi Larbi Cherkaoui and Akram Khan (Valiz, 2015) und Imaginative Bodies, Dialogues in Performance Practices (Valiz, 2016), eine Reihe von veröffentlichten Live-Interviews mit prominenten zeitgenössischen Künstlern, die Cools von 2008 bis 2013 für Sadler's Wells in London kuratierte. Mit der kanadischen Choreografin Lin Snelling entwickelte er eine improvisierte Performance-Praxis "Rewriting Distance" (siehe auch: www.rewritingdistance.com), die sich auf die Integration von Bewegung, Stimme und Schrift konzentriert. Cools lebt in Wien.