Musica Susch › Upcoming Concerts › Aris Quartet

→ MUSICA
SUSCH

Aris Quartet

Sunday, February 25, 5:00 pm

Muzeum Susch, Auditorium

Aris Quartet, Foto: Maximilian Mann

Anna Katharina Wildermuth - violin

Noëmi Zipperling - violin

Caspar Vinzens - viola

Lukas Sieber - violoncello

Expressive, dynamic, spectacular – the Aris Quartet has been at home on international stages for more than a decade. With its unmistakable sound, it has long been known as one of the world’s top-rank chamber music ensembles.

The musicians have performed in venues including London's Wigmore Hall, the Elbphilharmonie Hamburg, the Herbst Theatre San Francisco, and the Philharmonie de Paris. Their choice of chamber music partners is exceptional: Christiane Karg, Tabea Zimmermann, Daniel Müller-Schott, Eckart Runge, Kit Armstrong and Nils Mönkemeyer.

The ensemble also devotes itself to cross-genre projects, including with the jazz pianist Omer Klein. From the very beginning, the musicians have also placed a special focus on contemporary music. Composers such as Lukas Ligeti, Gerald Resch, Misato Mochizuki, and Pierre Dominique Ponnelle have entrusted the Quartet with world premieres of their works.

Founded in Frankfurt am Main in 2009, the Aris Quartet, one of whose most important mentors has been Günter Pichler (Alban Berg Quartet), continues to perform to this day in an unchanged format. The ensemble’s success is no coincidence: having earned numerous first prizes at prestigious competitions, the Aris Quartet quickly achieved its international breakthrough. The musicians have also been honored as ECHO Rising Stars by the European Concert Hall Organisation, were among the BBC's New Generation Artists, and have won five awards at the ARD International Music Competition in Munich.

In addition to regular appearances on radio and television, the Aris Quartet has already released six CD productions that have received considerable acclaim from critics. In late 2023 further recordings for the Deutsche Grammophon have been released especially on STAGE+.

Fanny Hensel (1805 ‒ 1847)

String Quartet E flat major

Leoš Janácek (1854 – 1928)

String Quartet No. 2 'Intimate Letters'

Franz Schubert (1797 ‒ 1828)

String Quartet No. 13 in A minor D 804 'Rosamunde

For a long time Fanny stood in the shadow of her famous brother Felix Mendelssohn Bartholdy. Although the latter always encouraged his sister to compose, he also corrected her in her works and made suggestions for improvements. Her string quartet, however, needs none of this brotherly advice. It is a sui generis work, at times boldly negating the traditional classical canon of forms and unabashedly romantic: more rambling fantasy than strictly structured four-part harmony. Schubert's A minor string quartet is also associated with a woman's name: "Rosamunde," the title of a drama for which Schubert composed the incidental music and from which he took the theme for the slow movement in the string quartet. With this movement, he wanted to conquer "the path to the great symphony," which can also be heard in the string quartet with its orchestral sonorities, its comparatively monumental proportions and extreme contrasts. Here a new Schubertian concept for the string quartet genre announces itself.

TICKETS:

CHF 25,00 (concert/ normal)

CHF 15,00 (concert/ reduced)

Combo Tickets:

CHF 37,00 (Muzeum Susch entrance + concert/ normal)

CHF 23,00 (Muzeum Susch entrance + concert/ reduced)

You can buy the tickets at Muzeum Susch reception during the opening times or book them via email info@muzeumsusch.ch.

The concert series is significantly supported by Art Mentor Foundation Lucerne.

Musica Susch › Kommende Konzert › Aris Quartet

→ MUSICA
SUSCH

Aris Quartet

Sonntag, 25. Februar, 17:00 Uhr

Muzeum Susch, Auditorium

Aris Quartet, Foto: Maximilian Mann

Anna Katharina Wildermuth - Violine 

Noëmi Zipperling - Violine 

Caspar Vinzens - Viola 

Lukas Sieber - Violoncello

Expressiv, dynamisch, spektakulär – das Aris Quartett ist seit mehr als einem Jahrzehnt auf internationalen Bühnen zu Hause. Mit seinem unverwechselbaren Klang ist es schon lange als eines der führenden Kammermusikensembles der Welt bekannt.

Die Musiker haben in renommierten Veranstaltungsorten gespielt, darunter die Wigmore Hall in London, die Elbphilharmonie Hamburg, das Herbst Theatre in San Francisco und die Philharmonie de Paris. Ihre Auswahl an Kammermusikpartnern ist außergewöhnlich: Christiane Karg, Tabea Zimmermann, Daniel Müller-Schott, Eckart Runge, Kit Armstrong und Nils Mönkemeyer.

Das Ensemble widmet sich auch interdisziplinären Projekten, einschließlich Zusammenarbeit mit dem Jazzpianisten Omer Klein. Von Anfang an lag ein besonderer Fokus der Musiker auf zeitgenössischer Musik. Komponisten wie Lukas Ligeti, Gerald Resch, Misato Mochizuki und Pierre Dominique Ponnelle haben dem Quartett Welturaufführungen ihrer Werke anvertraut.

Gegründet in Frankfurt am Main im Jahr 2009, tritt das Aris Quartett, dessen einer der wichtigsten Mentoren Günter Pichler (Alban Berg Quartett) ist, bis heute in unveränderter Formation auf. Der Erfolg des Ensembles ist kein Zufall: Mit zahlreichen ersten Preisen bei renommierten Wettbewerben erlangte das Aris Quartett schnell internationalen Durchbruch. Die Musiker wurden auch als ECHO Rising Stars von der European Concert Hall Organisation ausgezeichnet, gehörten zu den New Generation Artists der BBC und haben fünf Auszeichnungen beim ARD International Music Competition in München gewonnen.

Neben regelmäßigen Auftritten im Radio und Fernsehen hat das Aris Quartett bereits sechs CD-Produktionen veröffentlicht, die von Kritikern viel Lob erhalten haben. Ende 2023 wurden weitere Aufnahmen für die Deutsche Grammophon veröffentlicht, besonders auf STAGE+.

Fanny Hensel (1805 ‒ 1847)

Streichquartett Es-Dur

Leoš Janácek (1854 – 1928)

Streichquartett Nr. 2 Intimate Letters

Franz Schubert (1797 ‒ 1828)

Streichquartett Nr. 13 a-Moll D 804 ≪Rosamunde≫

Lange stand Fanny im Schatten ihres berühmten Bruders Felix Mendelssohn Bartholdy. Dieser ermutigte seine Schwester zwar immer wieder zum Komponieren, korrigierte sie aber auch in ihren Werken und machte Vorschlage für Verbesserungen. Ihr Streichquartett aber braucht keinen dieser brüderlichen Ratschlage. Es ist ein Werk sui generis, negiert teilweise mutig den traditionellen klassischen Formenkanon und gibt sich unverhohlen romantisch: mehr schweifende Fantasie als streng gefugte Vierstimmigkeit. Schuberts a-Moll-Streichquartett ist ebenfalls mit einem Frauennamen verbunden: ≪Rosamunde≫, der Titel eines Dramas, zu dem Schubert die Buhnenmusik komponierte und daraus das Thema für den langsamen Satz im Streichquartett übernahm. Mit diesem wollte er sich ≪den Weg zur grossen Sinfonie≫ erobern, was man dem Streichquartett mit seinen orchestralen Klangballungen, seinen vergleichsweise monumentalen Proportionen und extremen Kontrasten auch anhört. Hier kündigt sich ein neues Schubert’sches Konzept für die Gattung des Streichquartetts an.

TICKETS:

CHF 25,00 (Konzert/ normal)

CHF 15,00 (Konzert/ ermäßigt)

Combo Tickets:

CHF 37,00 (Eintritt Muzeum Susch + Konzert/ normal)

CHF 23,00 (Eintritt Muzeum Susch + Konzert/ ermäßigt)

Sie können die Tickets während der Öffnungszeiten an der Rezeption des Muzeum Susch kaufen oder sie per E-Mail unter info@muzeumsusch.ch reservieren.

Die Konzertreihe wird maßgeblich von der Art Mentor Foundation Lucerne unterstützt.