→ SITE - SPECIFIC WORKS
Situated within the walls of a former rural monastery founded in 1157 close to Flüela Pass, on the pilgrimage route to Rome and Santiago de Compostela, MUZEUM SUSCH comprises several buildings. Two of them serve a crucial role in displaying art: the Bieraria Veglia (old brewery), the oldest part of the historical monastery, and the Bieraria (brewery), erected in the 19th century above a mountain water source – now connected with Bieraria Veglia by an underground passageway running underneath the street.
Founded by Grażyna Kulczyk, the Polish entrepreneur and long-term supporter of contemporary art, MUZEUM SUSCH is specifically (but not exclusively) informed by a deep understanding of woman artists, especially those whose practice has been at times overlooked or misread. MUZEUM SUSCH, is at the same time, a site of contemplation, debate and research on art.
Over the course of three years, the existing structures were thoughtfully restored and recombined in a complex form by the architects Chasper Schmidlin and Lukas Voellmy. Due to the history of the existing structures, protected by Cantonal Historical Preservation Law, the additional rooms have been created by excavating into the surrounding mountain rock. The museum’s exhibition space, combining existing and newly created architecture, amounts to ca. 1.500 square metres.
MUZEUM SUSCH is defined by a series of permanent, site-specific installa- tions by international contemporary artists, which engage with the architecture. Each built-in artwork plays a part in shaping the evolving character and distinctive layout of the space, creating a unique sense of choreography with temporary works on display.